Milton and Beaches Lib Dems

Lib Dem Team for Waterbeach, Milton, Landbeach and Chittering Learn more

Ely Bus Victory

by Maurice Leeke on 18 October, 2012

“People Power has won the day, and we will be getting a bus service to Ely,” announced a delighted Maurice Leeke.  “I would like to thank all the local residents who have joined me in signing petitions, contacting bus operators, attending meetings, speaking to local councils and supporting the campaign for the return of this service.”

Although it will be a much more limited service than before, Stagecoach will be running a twice daily bus service from Landbeach and Waterbeach to Ely.

“I very much welcome Stagecoach’s change of mind,” said Maurice Leeke.  “When they said in April that they were cutting the bus link to Ely we told Stagecoach that local passengers would be disappointed and inconvenienced by the change, and asked them to reconsider.”

“Stagecoach said that they were running a commercial service and were unrepentant.  We monitored the number of people using the bus at crucial times before the service was withdrawn.  This enabled us to prepare a proposal for a replacement service,” added Maurice Leeke.

Reinstating an Ely service was enthusiastically supported at a packed public meeting called by Maurice Leeke and County Councillor Michael Williamson last month.

“I was impressed by the number of people who came to the meeting and the strength of support for a regular bus service to Ely,” said Councillor Williamson.  “It was said at the meeting that it would be good to get a service running before Christmas, so the 5th November start date is good news indeed.”

The journeys will leave Landbeach Cottenham Turn at 09:36 and 12:36 and from Waterbeach Green at 09:39 and 12:39 arriving in Ely at 10:20 and 13:20. There are journeys back from Ely at 12:16 and 17:16, arriving at Waterbeach Green at 12:49 and 17:49 and at Landbeach Cottenham Turn at 12:52 and 17:52.

   Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>